Other VoicesI have lived on these soggy, stoney slopes for the past 30 years.  This blog chronicles my adventure as it continues!  Mine is an adventure in local living, in working close to the land to address the economic question.  Mine is also an adventure in creative livelihood, in family, in fatherhood.  The rocks of this land I attend have served to strengthen me, to challenge me, to tire me, to inspire me.  This blog is an extension of this work & of this mountain.

Terrible Mountain Blog will also serve for me to speak to issues I engage with as I work my way through a graduate degree in business management from Marlboro Graduate School. This learning is centered by the sustainability evolution, a state of mind seeking economic, social, & environmental justice from nature’s inspiration.  This management perspective, this management practice, is taught in Brattleboro, VT, & it is a hub of uncommon learning.  It is an inspiration for me to be among pioneers in this enterprise.

Now a glimpse on a current dust up.  The times are demanding more. Is more, is less, more or less, even when it is more with less.  I’m confusing myself!  That’s the point.  There has been much talk of ethics in business recently.  Even more there has been talk of ethics and  CSR/Sustainability reporting.  The award winning CSR reports are the longest.  Leading Business School graduates have to pledge to be ethical. Peter Senge is claiming sustainability is a poor term to express our collective efforts.  So the dust is up and in this dry place of vision obscured I am being hit with a flashback to bioregionalism.  Thanks to  Richard Seireeni, and The Gort Cloud, Salmon Nation jogged my memory.  I have no answer here, but I appeal to all to stop the search for the ultimate tag for our efforts.  Each place will have individual needs for language to capture its sustainable essence. The challenge is to suss the essence from “sustainability” and put it and us in place.   For me this place, and this story, come from the lower reaches of Terrible Mountain in central Vermont.  Where is your place and where from comes your story?

